Chloé Zhao, Cynthia Erivo, Sarah Gadon join President Bong Joon Ho – Deadline


The 78e The Venice International Film Festival has established its full list of juries.

As previously announced, Parasite filmmaker Bong Joon Ho will chair the jury for this year’s competition. The Korean filmmaker is joined by Italian filmmaker Saverio Costanzo, French-Belgian actress Virginie Efire, British actress Cynthia Erivo, Canadian actress and producer Sarah Gadon, Romanian director Alexander Nanau and Chinese filmmaker Chloe Zhao.

Zhao comes on the back of his success with Nomadic country, which premiered in Venice last year and saw it win Best Picture and Best Director at the Oscars. She also co-wrote and directed Marvel’s Eternals, which will be released later this year.

Costanzo presented photos in Venice including La solitudine dei numeri primi and Hungry hearts; the latter won two Coppa Volpi awards for his stars Alba Rohrwacher and Adam Driver. Nanau presented his documentary Collective in Venice in 2019, he was subsequently nominated for an Oscar.

Related story

Cynthia Erivo on Emmy Nomination for Portrayal of Aretha Franklin: “I felt I had to play her as honestly as possible”

Erivo is a multi-award-winning actress whose roles include Aretha Franklin in Genie and the HBO series The foreigner. Gadon collaborated with David Cronenberg on photos including A dangerous method and she was recently seen in the Lawrence Levin film Black bear. Efira is the star of the photos whose It and Victoria, she was recently in Cannes with Paul Verhoeven Benedetta.

They will present the following prizes to the films in Competition: Golden Lion for Best Film, Silver Lion – Grand Jury Prize, Silver Lion for Best Director, Coppa Volpi for Best Actress, Coppa Volpi for Best Actor , Special Jury Prize, Best Screenplay Prize, “Marcello Mastroianni” Prize for the best young actor or actress.

The Orizzonti (Horizons) jury will be led by Bosnian director Jasmila Žbanić. She is accompanied by Norwegian director Mona Fastvold, Iranian director Shahram Mokri, American curator Josh Siegel, Italian writer Nadia Terranova.

They will reward: Orizzonti Prize for Best Film, Orizzonti Prize for Best Director, Special Orizzonti Jury Prize, Orizzonti Prize for Best Actress, Orizzonti Prize for Best Actor, Orizzonti Prize for Best Screenplay, Orizzonti Prize for Best Short Film.

Finally, the jury of the Venice Prize “Luigi De Laurentiis” for a first film – Lion of the future will be chaired by the Italian filmmaker Uberto Pasolini, who will be joined by the Austrian film critic and professor Martin Schweighofer, and the artist and director. Argentinian Amalia Ulman.

Venice runs from September 1-11 this year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.